McCall Gardens

Avis passed away after a brief illness on February 10, 2017 in Victoria, BC. She was born on October 18, 1935 in Camrose, AB. Avis was predeceased by her son, Dean Clayton Shapka (1974) and is survived by her daughter, Shelly Dennis-Orr (Robb); her sons, Tom (Stella) Robb and Bob (Dixie) Robb; her sister, Betty Ewart; her nieces and nephews, Jim (Robbin) Ewart, Susan Ewart, Janet (Richard) Harron and Barry Ewart; her grandchildren, Terra (Dana) Murdoch, Erin Dennis, Eric Orr, Lindy (Rob) Silano, James Robb, Brandon (Brittany) Robb, Jenessa (Philip) Parker, Kyle Robb, and Cody Robb and her great-grandchildren, Abril Silano and Seth Parker. She will be extraordinarily missed by many more friends and relatives.

The family wish to thank the doctors and nurses at Victoria General Hospital who cared for Avis over the last several months.

A Celebration of Life will be held at the Saanich Baptist Church, 7577 Wallace Drive, Saanichton, BC, on Friday, February 17, 2017 at 1:00pm, with Pastor Mark Cunningham officiating.

In lieu of flowers, donations may be made to Operation Christmas Child through samaritanspurse.org.

Condolences may be offered to the family below.

McCall Gardens
www.mccallgardens.com

  • Anita Diggins
    February 18, 2017

    Dear Shelly, Bob & Tom.

    There are no words to express the love I felt for your Mom, she had an uncanny way of just knowing when to ask how you were, gave a listening ear, or a kick in the pants!
    I will be forever grateful for her wisdoms, love & care for Ricky when he needed a family. He was truly blessed to have you all. Avis and I reconnected and we were able to chat online & on the phone and it was good to hear her voice. Then we drifted again!
    She introduce me to corn beef sandwiches, weird I know but everyone I make one I think of her.
    They say that Earth Angels come in many forms & when they are needed, she truly was that for us!
    Many blessings to you all. May the Creator give you strength!

  • michelle messmer
    February 18, 2017

    Michelle Messmer

    Bob, Dixie and Family

    We are so sorry to hear of the passing of Avis.
    Our deepest condolences are sent out to you.

    Love Michelle, Len and Family.

  • Louise Neufeldt
    February 16, 2017

    Dear Shelley and family: I am sorry to hear of your mother’s passing. I will miss her keen wit and wonderful sense of humour. It was always a pleasure to have her with us at different events. I will always remember her entertaining us at Annabelle’s Thanksgiving dinners.
    May God bless and comfort you,
    Louise

  • Tillie Baines
    February 16, 2017

    To Shelly and family, I will miss Avis so very much, she was such a good friend . I will cherish the years I have known her and grew to love her. She was more than a sister in Christ to me, as close as my biological sisters.
    With love and my deepest sympathy.
    Tillie B.

  • Doreen Kelley
    February 16, 2017

    The Kelley family send their condolences in the loss of a great person who always stood by us.
    It was so wonderful to have known her. She held our hands many times, thank you

  • Marge Wilke
    February 15, 2017

    Dear Robb Family:

    We’re so blessed to have known Avis right from our very youngest days growing up in Camrose. All those memories come flooding back, bringing loads of laughter with them. We’ll cherish them and miss her forever.

    Our condolences go out to you at this very sad time.
    Sincerely,
    Marge and Heinz Wilke

  • Della Keim
    February 14, 2017

    Dear Robb Family

    Our sincere condolences on the loss of your dearest Avis. May you find comfort and peace in the many wonderful memories you made with her.
    With deepest sympathy,
    Della Keim and family.

Leave Condolence

Type your condolence message into the box below and click "Submit". It may take up to 24 hours for it to appear. Your email address will not be published.

*

Search Website

Unique Family Aftercare
Service >